Diaries of the (Un)Natural pt. 1

So…Yesterday I decided to try something new.

But, before I get into that I’m just going to say that I have been “experimenting” with my hair for the past month or so.

It all started when one day I was on YouTube (like I usually am) watching Natural Hair Care tutorials (like I usually do) and realizing that I need to stop being lazy with my hair. In every hair care tutorial, each tutorial giver had a set routine that kept their hair in place for a while. I soon realized that I didn’t have that.

I didn’t have curls that lasted for days. At the end of every day, I was re-wetting my hair, re-putting conditioner in it, putting it in two buns and going to sleep.

I always told myself that I was “too lazy” or that I had “too much hair” do go through all the steps that the other Naturals when through, yet slightly envying the way their hair turned out.

I had (have) no routine for my hair. I just did whatever and went. And, while my hair still grew, I can’t help but wonder if my hair would be healthier if I did have a set routine.

….So…over the past month or so I have been experimenting with different wash and go routines. Figuring out which gel works best (and finding out that although every other Natural seems to love EcoStyler Olive Oil…i hate it. Maybe I should try the others?), and finding which combinations of products work best.

Finding out that detangling outside of the shower makes my scalp hurt, while detangling in the shower wastes water (no win-win situation here). Ugh…this process of exploration is annoying and hard…

But this leads me back to my first statement. YESTERDAY, I TRIED SOMETHING NEW!

The ACV (Apple Cider Vinegar) rinse. If you know me, you know that I hate using shampoo on my hair. I usually just co-wash unless I feel that my is particularly disgusting. The ACV rinse really cleansed my scalp (like all of the YouTubers claimed that it would), and it also is a natural de-tangler; my hair separated so easily while I massaged my scalp…I have never experienced that EVER in my life.

The only mistake I made is that I forgot to dilute the ACV. In stead of having a 1 part ACV and 2 part water mixure (like I was supposed to), I had all parts ACV. Oops. But hey, I was never one to follow rules! (I’ll let you know if I go bald).

Below are some pictures of my process.

 

IMG_0285

So, here are the products that were used. I also used olive oil btw.

So, I started off with six sections and rinsed and co-washed each individually. If you don’t know me, I have a lot of hair. Therefore, washing my hair in one big section is slightly pointless because I will leave that shower with my hair just as dirty as I entered. So, depending on how I am feeling, I separate my hair into either four or six sections to ensure optimum cleanliness.

IMG_0281

Since ACV stinks…really badly…I ended each rinse with a co-wash with my Renpure Coconut Creme Co-wash. This baby leaves my hair with my favorite scent (coconut) and leaves my hair soft and clean.

After washing, I separate my hair into six section and deep condition with a Carrot Conditioner mixed with an Anti-breakage Leave-In. In the past, I used to mix my own concoctions using mayonnaise, honey and other conditioners, but I have since gotten lazy. Yikes. But I will be getting back to all of that very soon.

IMG_0287

After rinsing the deep conditioner, I separated my hair in to ten sections (five on each side).

 

This Buttercream is something that is kinda new from this line. It is very thick and really adds moisture to my hair. I used this leave-in and Olive Oil to twist my hair. After 3 Hours of twisting….these are the results.

Like I said before, I am changing (or starting) a new regimen. Instead of having my hair “Out” all of the time, I am going to have two weeks where my hair is twisted or in some protective style, or two weeks of it out in a wash and go.

 

So, yesterday was a full day…Literally spent most of my…majority of it..almost all of it doing my hair…

Moscato was much needed…and tea even more.

If you have any questions, feel free to comment. I will also be posting more post like these soon!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Diaries of the (Un)Natural pt. 1

  1. So… Did you like the final results? I would also recommend trying the Kinky Curly Knot Today conditioner and gel.

    Looking forward to reading about your journey! 😘

    Like

    1. I did. Scalp was definitely very clean afterward. I am trying to do a more “natural” approach to hair care and what not, so this was definitely a good start. And yes, Those are on my list of things to try!

      Like

Leave a Reply

